The Committed defense attorney who will make a difference
Attorney Will Underwood, a Naval Submarine veteran and high-achieving law scholar, is an experienced criminal and family lawyer who can help you navigate those rules that you are unaware of, making it crystal clear for you and your family. Attorney Underwood has spent over 20 years in the legal system standing up for people in all matters of criminal and family law. That’s more than two decades of being a legal representative and guide on his clients’ – and your – behalf.
For instance, consider DWI charges in Texas. They can carry jail time and very stiff fines, as well as restrict you from driving and thus making a living due to limited mobility. DWIs can even cost you your job. Attorney Underwood fights for his clients by combing through all of the state’s evidence, including evaluating the laboratory results in blood and breath test cases. He keeps his clients mobile by making sure that they can apply for an Occupational driver’s license when needed and making timely requests for Administrative License review hearings to contest driver’s license suspensions. He will take you under his wing and guide you through the legal obstacle course in the most beneficial way for you and your situation.
Underwood & Associates represent clients in the following areas of criminal law:
- Domestic Violence
- Drug Crimes
- Expunctions and Non-Disclosures
- Juvenile Law
- Sex Crimes
- Probation Revocations
Texas categorizes drugs as one of 4 types:
- Narcotics: opium, morphine, codeine, hydrocodone (Vicodin), oxycodone (Percocet), fentanyl, carfentanil, among others.
- Depressants: opiates (heroin), opioids (painkillers), barbiturates, marijuana (cannabis), benzodiazepines (Xanax, Valium), chloral hydrate (Somnote), a range of inhalants.
- Stimulants: cocaine, amphetamines, some inhalants, among others.
- Hallucinogens: LSD (acid), PCP, mushrooms (psilocybin), ketamine, peyote or mescaline, among others.
Drug categories fall into different penalty groups in Texas that vary by whether you’re making the drug, selling it, or possessing it. The penalty groups are as follows:
- Penalty Group 1: opioids (including painkillers like codeine, hydrocodone, and oxycodone), opium derivatives and/or opiates (heroin and others), cocaine, methamphetamine, ketamine, LSD, mescaline, and similar hallucinogens.
- Penalty Group 2: Ecstasy (MDMA), PCP, psychedelic mushrooms, and amphetamines.
- Penalty Group 3: opioids and opiates not in Penalty Group 1, benzodiazepines and sedatives like Valium and others, anabolic steroids, methylphenidate (Ritalin), and other stimulant or depressant prescription drugs.
- Penalty Group 4: opioids and opiates not listed in Penalty Group 1, and a range of prescription medications and various chemical compounds that have a potential for abuse.
- Marijuana Group: marijuana (cannabis) and synthetic marijuana or synthetic cannabinoids (K2 and Spice, among others).
The penalty range for Groups 1 and 2 is from a minimum of 180 days to a maximum of 2 years in state jail and a fine up to $10,000. The punishment range for Groups 3 and 4 is from 0 to 6 months in jail (for quantities less than 28 grams) and a fine up to $10,000. The maximum sentence for possession of 400 grams or more of a controlled substance is 99 years or life imprisonment with fines ranging up to from $50,000 (Groups 2, 3, and 4) to $300,000 (Group 1).
Possession of marijuana may carry a probation sentence and mandatory drug treatment. You could also face anywhere from 180 days to 10 years in jail and fines from $2,000-$50,000 for pot possession, depending on the amount. In Texas, the severity of a drug charge is highly dependent upon on the circumstances of each case. If you’re facing drug charges in Texas, seek legal representation with Underwood & Associates.
Texas law prohibits all motorists from operating a motor vehicle if they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more or are “intoxicated” (meaning you’ve lost the normal use of your mental or physical faculties) due to drugs or alcohol. Additionally, under the state’s “zero tolerance” law, it is illegal for those under 21 years old with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system to operate a motor vehicle.
Those convicted of DWI could face a range of penalties from steep fines to lengthy driver’s license suspensions, largely depending on how many prior convictions the offender has. Be aware that Texas also has “implied consent” laws that require all drivers lawfully arrested for a DWI to submit to a blood or breath test. Those who refuse the test could face a license suspension of 180 days for a first offense and 2 years for a second or third offense.
Domestic violence in Texas is an assault against a person who is a family member, household member, or a current or past dating partner. Domestic violence occurs when an individual:
- intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to that other person;
- intentionally or knowingly threatens the person with imminent bodily injury; or
- intentionally or knowingly causes physical contact that they know or reasonably should know the alleged victim will find provocative or offensive.
Penalties for domestic violence range from a Class C misdemeanor to a first degree felony. The primary factors influencing which type of penalty the judge will impose include the alleged victim's relationship to the defendant, any past domestic violence convictions for the defendant, whether a deadly weapon was used or exhibited during the incident, and whether suffocation or strangulation was involved.
Let Underwood & Associates Fight for Your Defense!
If you have a legal matter that requires an experienced criminal defense attorney, one who is a strong advocate for his clients and one who cares for the people he represents, then call Underwood & Associates in Collin County.